Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Teaching a 17 year old how to use a lathe

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
ANDY CAWLEY30/06/2018 08:45:43
190 forum posts
50 photos

My 17 year old nephew has inherited, from a distant relative, a fully equipped Myford Super 7 complete with screw cutting gearbox, vertical slide etc.

He said " Uncle Andy will you show me how to use it?"

Where do I start and and carry on.

I did not serve time on the tools when I did my engineering at college and am a self taught (with book learning behind me) machinist. Amateur I hasten to add.

Edited By ANDY CAWLEY on 30/06/2018 08:47:07

Cabinet Enforcer30/06/2018 09:03:40
121 forum posts
4 photos

Write up the really basic safety rules, and stick them on the wall behind the lathe.

Discuss what he might want to make, then guide him through it step by step. Making something he wants will help maintain interest and help with information retention as it helps relate processes to a real object.

Get him to research the processes himself on youtube, you want to teach him enough so he can teach himself, there's no point in having you do all the work in the learning process.

Edited By Cabinet Enforcer on 30/06/2018 09:03:53

Michael Gilligan30/06/2018 09:22:59
23121 forum posts
1360 photos

Aside from the obvious merits of a practical project ... Download this: **LINK**

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/1617/5795.pdf

'How to run a Lathe' by SouthBend ... it's a gem.

MichaelG.

larry phelan 130/06/2018 09:27:44
1346 forum posts
15 photos

Lucky Boy !!

Mick B130/06/2018 09:41:50
2444 forum posts
139 photos

Engineering is 95% applied common sense, which is why there are so many self-taught engineers.

Get him working on one of the basic Stuart singles, and that'll exercise many of the standard lathe operations.

john fletcher 130/06/2018 10:05:21
893 forum posts