Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Hearing aids - NHS or private?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Robin Graham06/07/2023 00:30:48
1089 forum posts
345 photos

I'm sure I'm not the only one on here who is deaf. In my own case it's congenital and started in my mid forties, so I've been using aids for over twenty years. Exclusively NHS for me. That's been OK until recently.

The main purpose of this is to ask if others have experienced benefits from going private after having had experience of NHS aids. I'm less interested in the 'bells and whistles' (Bluetooth etc) than (a) subjective improvement in hearing quality and (b) expertise and accessibility of audiologists. I'd be grateful to hear of any experiences before I splash out. I'm thinking either Boots or Specsavers.

Robin.

peak406/07/2023 02:11:33
2207 forum posts
210 photos

Only recently started wearing them myself; I don't use them all the time, but great for TV theatre etc.
Have you had your present ones re-programmed recently to suit your current hearing defects?

Good Luck
Bill

Clive Hartland06/07/2023 07:00:47
2929 forum posts
41 photos

Siemen make NHS hearing aids, after a time the ear form becomes loose and will move when you incline ones head. then it whistles or osscilates, annoying. make an appt. to have a new earform made.

Much depends on what type of deafness you have, whether noise induced with accompaning tinnitus or congenital.

The hearing test will show the waveform and how to adjust the hearing via a computer set up at the audiology clinic.

Robert Atkinson 206/07/2023 07:55:55
1891 forum posts
37 photos

No experience with NHS aids but recently used Boots (central Cambridge). Very impressed with the service. I have loss of high frequencies. Bought some higher end Phonax receiver in ear aids with bluetooth (SWMBO insisted) and must admit it is very handy having wireless TV, handsfree for phone etc.