Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Weeds in a 'lawn'

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gary Wooding21/06/2020 10:56:44
1074 forum posts
290 photos

My garden contains something that should be a lawn. It has a lot of moss, daisies, some grass, and some other 'flowers' that I really neither like nor want. I don't know what they are, but there are rather a lot of them. I certainly didn't plant them, they did that by themselves.

I've some photos which I've put in my album called Weeds.

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of them please?

Journeyman21/06/2020 11:09:10
1257 forum posts
264 photos

Astro-turfdevil

John

Roderick Jenkins21/06/2020 11:09:15
2376 forum posts
800 photos

Fox and Cubs. We used to mow round the occasional one that turned up in our lawn. I would cherish them.

Stay well,

Rod

Clive Brown 121/06/2020 11:10:32
1050 forum posts
56 photos

I'm no expert, but I've found selective lawn weedkiller quite effective. Weedol Lawn Weedkiller, used to be called Verdone, is one.

Looking at your photos, a good application might result in a rather bare area of ground, to be rapidly recolonised by weeds. Ground preparation and reseeding might be called for.

Lawn sand is good for moss.

Regular mowing helps curb weeds I'm told, (by my wife).

not done it yet21/06/2020 11:14:29
7517 forum posts
20 photos

You need to get rid of that mole, too! They can play havoc if you have a nice lawned area!

Brian Oldford21/06/2020 11:17:30
686 forum posts
18 photos

Get a couple of Labrador bitches. Their continual piddling will kill off most plants PDQ.

Graham Meek21/06/2020 11:29:42
714 forum posts
414 photos