By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

How to use a die?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Tom Davies14/03/2015 02:43:52
6 forum posts

I'm a total beginner at cutting threads.

I'm trying to cut an M3 thread of a 3mm stainless steel rod. I cannot get the die to start at all -- as I turn it it does not cut any threads.

I have put a small chamfer on the rod with a file, but that does not seem to help.

The dies I have are not 'split'.

Is my material too hard, my die too poor quality, or is there a trick I'm missing?

JasonB14/03/2015 06:57:37
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Most dies have a slight taper to the teeth on one side to lead them onto the rod, this is generally on the side that has the size printed onto it so that is the side that goes against the end of the rod.

Also on a split die you should place it in the holder with all 3 screws loose, tighten the middle and you should be able to see the split in the die open up. Once it has opened a little just nip the other two screws up and then ready to use. It may need running down the thread again at a tighter setting but best judged against your nut or tapped hole.

Use a tapping fluid or as a get by some oil.

J

john kennedy 114/03/2015 07:23:40
214 forum posts
24 photos

If it's a carbon die you can cut a split into it by slowly hacksawing it. You can then do as Jason suggests.

The ones I sawed had a groove and a dimple either side.

JasonB14/03/2015 07:27:20
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Oops too early in the morning, I missed that it was not split which won't help.

Paul Lousick14/03/2015 08:23:31
2276 forum posts
801 photos

Hi Tom

S/S is harder to cut than mild steel. Cutters tend to rub the surface and not cut if not sharp enough.. Check that it is 3mm dia and not larger. Try adding a taper to the end of the rod, not just a small chamfer.

Paul.