By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Looting

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Michael Cooper 518/03/2022 22:28:43
16 forum posts

When I was an apprentice we used a type of black putty that we moulded onto our machine tools making little dams etc to guide any wayward coolant back to the suds tray.I think it was called “looting”.Does anyone know if it still exists or if there’s a modern equivalent.Thanks

Robin Graham18/03/2022 22:58:52
1089 forum posts
345 photos

Don't know what it was, but you may have more success searching on 'luting' rather than 'looting'. Lute is a term for cement, sealant etc I think.

Robin.

Edited By Robin Graham on 18/03/2022 22:59:53

Roderick Jenkins18/03/2022 23:03:38
2376 forum posts
800 photos

I suspect it was spelt "luting". Seems to be mostly a dental term these days but relates to puttys and cements so could have been one of those old school pre-silicone mastics.

Rod

Edit:  Too slow yet again

Edited By Roderick Jenkins on 18/03/2022 23:04:44

Michael Cooper 518/03/2022 23:04:22
16 forum posts

Thanks Robin,that makes a lot of sense.Learnt more on this site in 24 hrs than I have in last 10 years.Thanks again 👍

Michael Cooper 518/03/2022 23:12:50
16 forum posts

Thanks Rod. I used this in MoD workshops in the 80’s so it could have been from any era knowing their stores.Thanks for the heads up about luting, I never new the word existed till now.

Alan Charleston19/03/2022 05:05:10
157 forum posts
26 photos

Hi Michael,

My 1916 copy of Machinery's Handbook has a section on Lutes and Cements. They are variously described as water-proof, oil-proof,acid-proof and chlorine-proof. A general purpose lute recipe is:

"Plaster of paris, especially when mixed with asbestos, straw, flush trimmings, hair , broken stone etc."