Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Three phase reversing

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
old mart10/01/2022 20:14:36
4655 forum posts
304 photos

The Smart & Brown model A lathe has a 1 1/2 hp three phase motor and in addition to the on off buttons it has a lever switch with forward-stop-reverse. What I want to know is whether throwing the reversing lever from one direction to the other without stopping the motor will be advisable. The lathe is over 70 years old and I have never tried this before and don't want to do any damage.

Former Member10/01/2022 20:20:13
1085 forum posts

[This posting has been removed]

Andrew Tinsley10/01/2022 20:29:31
1817 forum posts
2 photos

Emphatically NO!

Robert Atkinson 210/01/2022 20:34:40
1891 forum posts
37 photos

DO NOT reverse the the motor switch with the spindle moving.
Doing so is likely to cause mechanical and electrical damage.

Robert.

old mart10/01/2022 20:44:57
4655 forum posts
304 photos

I was worried because of the machines age mostly, as the manual states that it can be done when metric threading using the back gear, so as to keep the leadscrew nuts engaged, but not at high speeds. Then it goes on to say that the lever switch can be used to slow the spindle quickly from high speeds, no doubt with the intention of switching to off as the spindle stops, and with a screwed on chuck, to boot. surprise

noel shelley10/01/2022 21:46:31
2308 forum posts
33 photos

Others have said it and so will I - DON'T DO IT ! Noel.

Pete Rimmer11/01/2022 00:30:43
1486 forum posts
105 photos

3 phase motors can plug reverse but it puts a lot of stress on the machine both mechanically and electrically if done at speed so only do it at faily low RPM and not if it's turning a large load.

My lathe has instant-reverse (It's DC) but it has an anti-plugging relay that won't allow it above 200rpm (I think). It brakes the motor and then reverses it when it gets slow enough.