By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Tailstock cuck, keyless or not?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
King Olaf05/01/2022 12:21:36
11 forum posts

I need to buy a tailstock chuck for my Warco 180.

I'm tempted to get a keyless one (from Warco), but wanted to ask if there are other downsides to it than not being able to run it in reverse?

The pros are that keyless ones are apparently more precise?

I'm new to this hobby so pardon my ignorance. I did search the forum as I feel this would be a common question, but couldn't find the answer.

Mike Poole05/01/2022 15:14:31
3676 forum posts
82 photos

A keyless tends to release if you use it for tapping when you reverse, for drilling no problem but they tend to be slightly longer than a keyed chuck.

Mike

Tony Pratt 105/01/2022 15:25:22
2319 forum posts
13 photos

''The pros are that keyless ones are apparently more precise?'' Thats a new one on me after nearly 50 years in machining, it's BS, the product quality will come from how well the item is made. Having said that a lot of the previously well known brands are not what they used to be. Warco state for their keyless chucks 'Highly accurate, precision chucks.', that means nothing in my book?

Tony

Edited By Tony Pratt 1 on 05/01/2022 15:26:46

Edited By Tony Pratt 1 on 05/01/2022 15:30:02

clogs05/01/2022 15:48:11
630 forum posts
12 photos

I will alway use decent Jacobs keyed chucks...in lathes and mills..

never had any luck with keyless.....

but I do have one of my bench drills with a keyless chuck....

but all the drill bits used in it I have milled 3 flats on the shank.....so no probs with turning bits....

this machine is just used for rough drilling ......I make a lot of dog kennals and most of the frames are bolted together.....ie...10mm holes for 8mm bolts....

Vic05/01/2022 15:53:53
3453 forum posts
23 photos