Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

How much do Colchester spares cost ?

Arm and a leg for Colchester Lathe Spares formerly 600 Group

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Absolute Beginner01/10/2018 20:41:44
103 forum posts

Hi ALL,

I purchased some spares for my "New to Me" Colchester Student 2500 Lathe Manufactured Yr 2007 today.

I have listed these prices for general info

D740H1-002
Iss. 3 CROSS SLIDE STRIP. £97
HA-0140
I.280/50P - M8 X 16 KNOB
FE-0010. £7
D112H2010 TOOLPOST NUT
A805H0101. £9
Iss. 2 TEE PIECE & STUD
GA-0470. £56
S2502C007 GASKET
GD-0020 £10
D600H8004 RUBBER MAT
D650H9-003
Iss. 1 PERSPEX CANOPY PLATE. £86

Yes you have read correctly a nut is charged at £9

They were always rumoured to be expensive but these prices take the biscuit.

Gary

Alan Waddington 201/10/2018 22:02:06
537 forum posts
88 photos

Ouch ! Look on the bright side......at least spares are still available, and once you get it up and running, you can make your own nuts cheeky

Ian Skeldon 201/10/2018 22:06:00
543 forum posts
54 photos

Hi Gary,

It's one of the dilemas when trying to decide between new Chinese or used British, as you have discovered the cost of parts can be very expensive. I don't think parts for Chinese lathes are a lot cheaper or much easier to get hold of, but anyone buying a new lathe should avoid the need to buy anything other than tooling.

Hopefully you won't need any more parts and can start making swarf at a fair old rate.

Hopper01/10/2018 22:50:47
7881 forum posts
397 photos

Seems on par with car and motorbike parts prices. Yes, 9 quid nuts and all. You pay for the inventorying and storage. And of course the fact that they have what you want and nobody else does...

Wait until you buy headstock bearings for certain models. Nine dollar nuts will be a pleasant memory.

Chris Evans 602/10/2018 07:33:27
2156 forum posts