By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Absolute Beginner

Here is a list of all the postings Absolute Beginner has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Convertor Issues 240V 1 phase to 415V Three Phase
19/10/2018 22:45:58

HI All,

Well I thank you all for your advise. I will aim to continue to use the device in "Plug and Play Mode" a scenario that many are obviously unfamiliar with, and will install a so called daft soft starter, and will let those who might be interested know how I get on. It just might come in helpful to others in the future.

Sorry to those that think I must use the functions of the VFD, its just not an option that I wish to pursue

I will make it clear whilst I have asked for opinions and advise, unfortunately the advise given by some is pointless as they hacve mis understood the question being asked, sorry but fact.

However I will say as always its interesting to sift through some of peoples thoughts, opinions and advise as on occasion a real jem appears.

Again thank-you. Now where do I find the so called daft soft starter?

Gary

19/10/2018 21:39:55

Hi Jon,

Sorry I don't understand what you mean. The soft start would be inserted between the contractors output and the motor.

As for the independent supply to the cofactors and control switchgear, that is via 240V single phase into a transformer on the machine which provides 110v supply to the contractor coils

Gary

19/10/2018 20:57:22

Hi All,

Many thanks for your replies.

For those few that understand my dilemma many thanks. Jon, again many thanks for your comments however I would stress the following.

Currently the Convertor starts the lathe, in any gear, and with no assistance every time. my only thoughts are that it probably dosent like it due to the high inrush current and that it will be counting down the time to failure.