Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

TCT LATHE TOOLS

SHARPENING LATHE TOOLS

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  

John Exley21/12/2010 12:15:13
10 forum posts
CAN ANY ONE ADVISE ME HOW TO SHARPEN TCT LATHE TOOLS I AM A COMPLETE NOVICE AS I BOUGHT MY SIEG C1 A WEEK AGO AND AM TRYING TO GATHER AS MUCH INFORMATION AS I CAN

REGARDS

JOHN 
Andrew Johnston21/12/2010 12:28:12
7061 forum posts
719 photos
Errr, not quite sure why there is a picture of my surface roughness measurement meter at the top of this post, pretty though it is!

John: By TCT I assume you mean tungsten carbide tipped, ie, a brazed tip? If that is so you'll need a silicon carbide grinding wheel (colloquially known as 'green grit'). If you just want to clean up the edges then a diamond 'hone' will be fine.

By the way, in forum speak all capitals is taken as shouting, and may be considered not quite cricket.

Regards,

Andrew
Ian S C21/12/2010 14:15:48
7468 forum posts
230 photos
With a new lathe, and just learning how to use it, I would stick to HSS tools, easy to sharpen on an ordenary grinder, and finished with an oil stone.  Hss is more foregiving than carbide, and you'll find that even after you know a little bit about lathe work, you'll still use the HSS quite a bit.  Ian S C
John Exley23/12/2010 10:44:59
10 forum posts
Thanks for your help Andrew I will try not to shout next time
regards John 
John Exley23/12/2010 10:46:56
10 forum posts
Thanks Ian have some Hss bits will play around with them see how i go
regards

John 
Paul Boscott23/12/2010 16:14:25
99 forum posts
21 photos
I recently bought "the diamond tool holder" and I can tell you it works very well ( see add half way down on the right) in my opinion its better than the tipped tools I have. and its so  easy to keep 100% sharp all the time providing you have a grinder. see the youtube video

Paul

I have not connection with the company other than beeing a satisfied customer