Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Case Hardening Push Rod Ends

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Pete Hodgson 120/07/2023 15:56:38
3 forum posts

Hello All,

I am a newbie to hardening and am making some push rod ends for a vintage motorcyle club. The parts were turned from EN8 medium carbon steel (0.35-0.45% C) as I thought this would heat treat nicely. However, although a good hardness is achieved after quenching the subsequent tempering to reduce the brittlenes (for a part subjected to constant impact) reduced the hardness considerably....so I thought I'd case harden them.

Case hardening and quenching the wearing end of the part only worked perfectly from a hardening point of view but the surface finish became pitted/cratered which is not acceptable for the wearing surface. This appeared to happen when dipping in the comound rather than the quenching.

I have created a link (I hope) to a pdf file with photos and more detail.

Link to more detail

Does anyone have any tips on how to case harden this EN8 part without degradation to the machined surface finish ??? I will obviously expect to clean off scale, etc but cannot accept pitting/craters.

Thanks in advance.

bernard towers20/07/2023 16:47:44
1221 forum posts
161 photos

the trick is to remove oxygen from the equation, encase on a metal box with a piece of brown paper and the case hardening medium soak at red heat. only quench the parts to be hard .

Pete Hodgson 120/07/2023 18:23:00
3 forum posts

Thanks Bernard for the reply.

I guess the metal box needs to have a lid and the purpose of the brown paper is to burn the remaining oxygen in the box?

Andrew Johnston20/07/2023 19:02:47
7061 forum posts
719 photos

Use silver steel, then you can harden and temper to whatever value of Rc you want, up to a maximum of high 60s.

Andrew

Dave Halford20/07/2023 19:15:00
2536 forum posts
24 photos

Shouldn't pushrods be tubes with hardened ends?