Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Rear tool post vs front tool post

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Micklewright21/03/2023 21:36:13
10 forum posts
6 photos

Im a complete beginner. What is the difference between the rear tool post and a normal one?

Many thanks

not done it yet22/03/2023 07:58:39
7517 forum posts
20 photos

One cuts from the front of the workpiece and the other cuts from the rear. Nothing difficult in that. Sometimes the lathe might be driven in the opposite direction, sometimes the cutter may be inverted (definitely the way for screwed-on chucks).

Most use the rear tool post for parting off parts on the lathe.

SillyOldDuffer22/03/2023 08:35:30
10668 forum posts
2415 photos

Welcome to the forum Simon.

Wot NDIY said, but a picture is worth a thousand words:

dsc06726.jpg

The front-tool post is normally mounted on a compound-slide and can be moved sideways or swivelled; they conveniently allow cutters to be applied to the job in many different ways. Often as not, the front tool-post can hold more than one tool. In the photo, mine is a 4-way type. Another favourite is a Quick Change Tool Post in which cutters are held in cartridges pre-adjusted for height.

Front tool-posts are flexible in both senses of the word. Being able to swivel and slide means they sit on a somewhat spindly construction that's prone to bend under severe stress. Certain jobs can lift the whole saddle. As rigidity is important to machine tools - more the better - there are times when the convenient front tool-post is best avoided.