Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Keyway Broaching

Using a tailstock?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
FullaFlava15/12/2019 16:52:01
30 forum posts
52 photos

To fit a power feed I’ve had for ages to my mill, I have a need to increase the diameter of the bore of the drive gear and then make a 5mm keyway. The keyway will need to have a length of approx 70mm and the material is brass.

I’ve never used a keyway broach before and am unsure how much force is required. Do you think ill be able to push one through with the tail stock on my HLV clone?

183b5208-267f-4138-9d57-70235857be3e.jpeg

Joseph Noci 115/12/2019 17:01:08
1323 forum posts
1431 photos

I have broached quite a few bosses in aluminium, none as long as 70mm, and it takes a surprising amount of force. I would be reluctant to put that sort of force on the tailstock screw. Also, that load transfers into the tailstock body and lathe bed. I assume you have all the stepwise increment wedges for the broach as well. Whatever method you end up using, ensure that the force on the broad is really square-on and inline - a 5mm broach bends easily! Also, remove and clean out the chips regularly - 70mm is a long way to go!

Joe

JasonB15/12/2019 17:02:54
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Better to try with the mill's quill or even a drill press though a hydraulic press is preferable.. Though it is a long keyway and you will have a lot of teeth engaged that will take quite a bit of effort and may well clog the gullets of the teeth so you might have to withdraw the broach part way through to clear out the chips.

David George 115/12/2019 17:10:27
2110 forum posts
565 photos