By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

piston rings vs. silicone o-ring

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
John gallo26/01/2016 13:02:58
26 forum posts

I am new to this forum and look forward to a great experience. As a novice modeler I took on the project of machining a Stuart beam engine. Everything is going pretty well and I am at the point of turning the piston. The plans call for a silicone o-ring but there is the option of using two metal piston rings instead. Is there any advantage to using the rings over the silicone o-ring?

I have the two metal rings, but they don't come with any information on piston groove size or position on the piston. The piston is one inch in diameter by one half inch thick. I contacted the company but they had no information on groove clearances.

If any one has had any experience with some thing like this I would appreciate any help I could get as I am leaning towards the metal rings over the o-ring. Thanks in advance, John.

JasonB26/01/2016 17:36:07
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Assuming you have 1/16" wide rings I would cut two grooves with 1/16" of material left between the two grooves. They should be cut just wide enough for the ring to fit into without sticking so something like 0.064" which would leave you with just short of 3/32" each end if set out centrally on teh piston.

Depth of the groove should be about 0.005" more than the thickness of the ring.

Although this pic shows O rings I would place the iron ones in  similar way.

Edited By JasonB on 26/01/2016 17:39:18

John gallo01/02/2016 22:29:37
26 forum posts