Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Technical and engineering drawing.

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Terryd17/04/2011 21:52:19
1946 forum posts
179 photos
Hi Guys,

Following the recent debacle about the drawings in the 'Beginners' series on the 'Countryman'sSteam' I made an offer to David to write an article or two on the basics of Technical and Engineering drawing for beginners as it is such a complex method of expressing ideas. I thought that it could perhaps be included in MEW. Unlike the recent CAD series, it would not have been about making drawings or designs but about interpreting and reading existing drawings - not easy if you are not familiar with the standard methods of representation.

Having taught the subjecti(including CAD and Graphic Design) when I was a teacher following my Engineering career I thought that I might have a bit of a contribution to make to those who haven't had the benefit of learning about BS 308 etc and thought that beginners might like to be able to interpret drawings properly. I know that BS308 has been superseded by ISO standards but many of the drawings we encounter were (and still are) drawn to those British Standards.

I am sad to say that I had a less than enthusiastic answer to my offer. i.e.

"Hi Terry

Readers don't like engineering drawing articles in ME or MEW, they want steam engines and tools.

I regards David"

I find this a bit of a personal insult given that over the last year or so we have had many articles about 3D and 2D CAD systems which were of little interest to myself, not to mention a (poorly designed) woodworkers bench and articles about woodworking tools etc etc. I would have thought that basic technical drawing interpretation was essential in our hobby to make those steam engines not just draw them which the CAD articles was all about.