Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

O-ring coming off pulley when motor power is cut

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Maff10/11/2009 20:25:29
3 forum posts
Hi!

I am making a motorised zeotrope which involves a spinning disc connected to a motor.

I bought a MFA/COMO 940D 100:1 Motor-Gearbox from maplin and have set it up to drive the disc which is connected to a 6mm drive shaft (mounted with bearings top and bottom), 16mm alum pulley and a large o-ring (all from Maplin).

The disc spins perfectly until the power to the motor is cut, because the momentum of the disc keeps it spinning but resistance from the motor tries to stop it until the belt comes off.

How can I get aroud this? Can you buy a freewheel ratchet 'thing' (Sorry... I'm a bit new to model-making!)?

Many many thanks for any advice you can give,

Cheers!
Martin W10/11/2009 23:09:49
940 forum posts
30 photos
Hi

You could use a speed controller, the same sort of thing as used in model railways or model cars, then you can control the rate of speed up/ down and the viewing speed well. Or it may be possible to slacken the belt slightly so that its braking action is moderated but again it may just fall off under braking loads. This of course will in time wear the drive band out.

I think that the first suggestion is preferable as this limits the stresses put on the system to an acceptable level and should preserve the mechanism. Anyhow it could be fun varying the speed of the action from Charlie Chaplin film style to slow motion.

Cheers

Martin
russell10/11/2009 23:33:18
142 forum posts
could you put 'flanges' on the pulley? It sounds to me like the belt is slightly too thick for the groove in the pulley, so it can ride out. (or is the motor geared down by a worm drive. In which case you will absolutely need at least a clutch, because your disk will never be able to drive the motor...)