By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Myford ML7, or Colchester Bantam/Boxford model A easiest to use?

Are the Colchester/Boxford much easier to use with gearboxes?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Men Ifr04/12/2018 12:37:59
119 forum posts
10 photos

I'm aware a Boxford model A or Colchester Bantam are heavier/sturdier machines but appear to take up about the same amount of floorspace as a ML7.

But are they easier to use? They both have a gearboxes but does that mean a) speed changes b) feedrate changes and c) metric thread pitches can all be selected much faster/easier than a Myford?

Part of the reason I ask is as a beginner I expect I probably need a lot of experimenting with feeds/speeds and a myford would require belt or gear changes each time in which case I would probably experiment less and not learn as well...

A Boxford/Colchester would also have a much bugger through spindle bore which may mean they could handle jobs a Myford could not but I don't know how likely that is to come up in practice.

I'm comparing these 3 just on availability really, a ML7 would be maybe 2/3 the price of a boxford/colchester but I could stretch to one, particularly if they are easier to use.

Men Ifr04/12/2018 12:48:12
119 forum posts
10 photos

FYI These are the items I'm looking at:

**LINK**

No tools or accessories, plus needs shipping but is not too far away

**LINK**

I can collect for free - is very close to me - I need to check for metric screwcutting though and would put a DRO on for metric movements but I would like DRO on any lathe I get (I'm lazy!)

**LINK**

This is 3 hours from me - too far I think shipping would be £££ but is maybe an example what a Boxford would go for

Men Ifr04/12/2018 12:52:15
119 forum posts
10 photos