By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Any idea what this is?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Steven Anderson23/04/2018 16:14:52
6 forum posts

Hi everyone. I am absolutely new to model engines, so couldn't tell you anything about what I am looking at. I am replacing the kitchen in the house and as i was tearing out the old units I found something interesting hiding behind it all...

As far as I can tell, none of the parts have ever been out of the plastic wrap, although air has been getting in and there is rust present on some parts. There is a red sticker on the back of the box which says "Stuart Sun Engine Machined, Made in England"
Is it of any value, or will i start tearing the parts out, cleaning them and putting it together? I'm a marine engineer so i have some degree of confidence in putting this together, although instructions or a helping hand would be much appreciated!

fizzy23/04/2018 18:32:53
1860 forum posts
121 photos

Its a Seuart Turner Sun Engine (castings), bit of a find as they no longer sell this line.

Steven Anderson23/04/2018 18:38:22
6 forum posts

thank you :D What do you mean by castings? I notice on the Stuart website there is "castings" (unmachined) and machined kits.. whats the difference? Is this worth much? I'm itching to break into it but If its of any value Id rather someone who genuinely wants this would have the honor.

JasonB23/04/2018 18:39:15
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

The Sun was one of their range of high speed enclosed marine engines intended for use in a boat most likely powered by a flash steam boiler. They could also be used to run a dynamo or small pump. Bit of the history of these engines here