Collet issues

Collet advice

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Mouse22/06/2023 14:04:33
11 forum posts
12 photos

img_5418.jpg

img_5419.jpgHi Im new to milling and have bought this fb2. The collet and collect chuck that came with the machine seems to correspond but when I tighten the arbour/ chuck the 6mm collet and 6mm endmill are still loose, does anyone have advice where i might be going wrong?

the colets i recieved are a mix of imprial and metric.

If I need to buy a different type of collet chuck can anyone reccomend sutable? I did think about just going to Morse taper 2 style to add height but for now Id rather use what i have as money keeps flying out for other needed equipment.

img_5330.jpg

img_5418.jpg

Bill Phinn22/06/2023 14:09:10
1076 forum posts
129 photos
Posted by Mouse on 22/06/2023 14:04:33:

Hi Im new to milling and have bought this fb2. The collet and collect chuck that came with the machine seems to correspond but when I tighten the arbour/ chuck the 6mm collet and 6mm endmill are still loose, does anyone have advice where i might be going wrong?

What is the size marking on the collet you're trying to fit the 6mm shank into?

What is your procedure for tightening down the collet on to the endmill?

Edited By Bill Phinn on 22/06/2023 14:09:58

Nealeb22/06/2023 15:00:43
231 forum posts

That looks like an Autolock-style collet chuck designed to hold only the appropriate screwed-shank cutters - it won't hold a plain shank cutter.

May be wrong - just trying to interpret the images! The body looks as if it has a centre point at the back which is a key part of the holding mechanism.

On the other hand, with the right cutters, these are probably the most secure collet chucks you can get! There is a correct way to install cutters into these chucks, but let's make sure we know what we are looking at first.

SillyOldDuffer22/06/2023 15:04:09
10668 forum posts
2415 photos