Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Small scraping project wanted

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
MikeK19/01/2022 02:40:05
226 forum posts
17 photos

I've never done any scraping before, but I'd like to do something small this winter. Are there any small projects people would suggest? Something that would not be daunting and would have a use after complete. I was thinking about a gauge to check the flatness of my 12"x18" surface plate, which could start as a 2"x4" plate that I scrape flat? But I'm open to ideas.

-Mike

pgk pgk19/01/2022 06:43:45
2661 forum posts
294 photos

Keith Rucker at Vintage Machinery did a number of videos on learning to scrape and also sells a 9" camelback straight edge rough casting that needs scraping to be used but cost and postage from the US might be an issue. Ah! Just noticed you are in the US!

pgk

Dalboy19/01/2022 09:22:46
1009 forum posts
305 photos

When I was training as a plant mechanic one of the things we had to make was a straight edge which got us to cut with a hacksaw to a line filing straight edges, filing curves and finally using a scraper and surface plate to get the straight edge square and true may seem a simple project but surprising what it taught us.

I still have it now many years after I made it I will one day put it onto the surface plate again just in case it has been damaged after being throw into a tool box and left there for many a year( I know I should have treated it with a lot more respect).

I will try and take a photo of it

mechman4819/01/2022 12:18:33
2947 forum posts
468 photos

Mike.go with your first Idea; make up a pair of blocks as gauges which could be used as matched packers later. Scrape them flat to your surface plate as master then scrape them flat to each other & see how close you can match them as a pair.

George.

Henry Brown19/01/2022 13:15:14
618 forum posts
122 photos