Beavermill Runout

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Antony Harding19/09/2023 19:39:06
27 forum posts
7 photos

Hi all,

I got an issue…!!!!

Following my past posts on what I believed was a bad arbour, the cause now looks to be runout of my Beavermill. I have had a dial indicator on the inside of the taper spindle ad got 0.11mm runout at about a rotational speed of 100rpm.

You possibly can tell I am very new to this and only just got this mill. I am not bad in following technical guidance and do work on small machinery and old Land Rovers but never touch a mill before.

Sorry but not totally sure on the model of Beavermill I have, but is exactly the same as the drawing below.

So…… the big money question to you guys. How can I get rid of this runout and is there any “how to” guides or technical documentations on how to do this? I don’t mine getting my hands oily but prefer in having guidance on how to do this then just diving in blind and hoping I can put it back together (and finding the issue).

mill head.jpg

Pete Rimmer19/09/2023 20:04:32
1486 forum posts
105 photos

Yes that is 'country mile' in terms of spindle runout.

Put a tool in the spindle taper, set the dial gauge against the outside and use your hand to pull the spindle about, see if the effort you put in is reflected in the dial gauge reading. Repeat by heaving on the top of the spindle, it might simply be that the top support bearing is bad.

Edited By JasonB on 20/09/2023 08:44:43

Mark Rand19/09/2023 21:13:04
1505 forum posts
56 photos

To add to Pete's post:- Set the speed to the highest possible (it is a variable speed Mk2 VBRP, not the step-pulley version isn't it?). This will make the spindle easier to turn by hand. If it's still too much (shouldn't be) then it is acceptable to use an adjustable spanner on the driving dogs at the bottom of the taper. Shouldn't need that though.