By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Emco Compact 5 - complete newbie

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
brett slater28/05/2022 15:44:41
5 forum posts

I'm a keen modeller but have never really done any metalwork until now . I 've just bought a second hand emco 5 with milling attachment and a set of ER collets plus the holder that looks like it should attach to the drill press. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to remove the drill chuck - could someone help me out please ?

Also can anyone recommend a good book to help me get started - at this stage even the terminology is new to me.

I'm sure i'll be adding more daft questions as i explore the new toy !

Hollowpoint28/05/2022 15:56:23
550 forum posts
77 photos

Remove the drill chuck from the lathe or milling attachment?

Mill - screws off

Lathe - morse taper, just wind the handle back and it should eject itself.

Edited By Hollowpoint on 28/05/2022 15:56:49

Thor 🇳🇴28/05/2022 16:31:09
1766 forum posts
46 photos

Hi Brett,

Welcome to the forum. I have a PDF of the manual if you are interested.

Thor

Edited By Thor 🇳🇴 on 28/05/2022 16:50:11

Y C Lui28/05/2022 16:37:58
84 forum posts
35 photos

In the internet era, not too many people go to books. Youtube is more popular

Edited By Y C Lui on 28/05/2022 16:38:32

Jouke van der Veen28/05/2022 20:19:51
203 forum posts
19 photos

Hallo Brett,

There is a radial hole in the mill spindle, above the chuck. You place a long (dovel) pin in that hole and a second pin in one of the key holes in the chuck. By squeezing by hand the two pins together the chuck will come loose. The chuck has M14x1 RH thread. A manual for Emco Compact 5 will help you a lot. Mine is in German.

Regards,

Jouke

brett slater29/05/2022 09:52:06
5 forum posts
Posted by Jouke van der Veen on 28/05/2022 20:19:51:

Hallo Brett,