Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Digital CNC phase converter build

Looking at all options

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Robert Laurenson19/07/2021 20:16:58
48 forum posts

Hi all

I am looking at three phase conversion options for my workshop I have looked at rotary converters

and I have also looked at static and digital conversion options what I'm wondering is does anyone have a digital converter from the only manufacturer that makes them. Drives Direct is the name.

If so how well does it work and what is your experience with it?

I'm looking at getting 3 phase from the grid (extremely expensive) and also looking at getting a rotary converter with digital phase balance. from the USA.

The only other option I can come up with is to design and build a digital phase converter on my own, i have a lot of experience in electrics and electronics but cant figure out exactly how the digital phase converter works. The basis of it must be a VSD with Harmonic filter in front, and Sine Wave filter on the output side. And a bank of capacitors on the output to take the start current. But apart from that im not sure what else. And those bits alone in no way could justify the cost they charge. Seeing one would help or any ideas any of you may have.

Andrew Johnston19/07/2021 21:15:30
7061 forum posts
719 photos

Best place to start is to describe what you are trying to do. Are you intending to run a 3-phase motor from a single phase supply, or create a substitute for a utility 3-phase supply.

I'm not convinced that capacitors on the AC output will help with start current.

Personally I went with having a proper 3-phase supply installed at home.

Andrew

SillyOldDuffer19/07/2021 21:21:03
10668 forum posts
2415 photos

Description of a commercial system here.