Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Single phase verses 3 phase motor

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Philip Slater09/02/2019 16:49:21
22 forum posts

Hi all

Not sure if this is a good place to direct this question or not but here goes.

I'm fairly new to model engineering and am in the process of building up a Tom Senior M1 milling machine to which I've grafted a Rambaudi vertical head. I now need to fit a motor to the vertical head and was looking at fitting a 1 1/2 HP type. I was going to go for a 3 phase motor with a VFD but it occured to me I could make the job a bit cheaper and fit a single phase motor.

Does anybody have any thoughts on this? I would think the 3 phase motor would be smoother running and I like the idea of a soft start but I can save the cost of a VFD if I go single phase.

Gary Wooding09/02/2019 17:01:14
1074 forum posts
290 photos

I fitted VFDs to my Centec - smooth start and variable speed is far better than 1-phase.

Brian Oldford09/02/2019 17:17:30
686 forum posts
18 photos

IMHO good solid 3 phase motors of that capacity can often be picked up S/U for a song. With all the advantages of Soft Start, Infinitely Variable Speed and even Over-speed a VFD is a no-brainer.

I have them fitted to both my mill and lathe and wouldn't go back to single phase machines.

duncan webster09/02/2019 17:53:35
5307 forum posts
83 photos

Wouldn't go back to single phase for all the tea in China. 1.5 HP single phase is going to be quite a lump as well, as Brian says you'll get S/H 3 phase if you search. Try Gavin Oseman who sometimes advertises on **LINK**. Never dealt with him but I know a man who has.

Pete White09/02/2019 18:23:29
223 forum posts
16 photos

Double post, instead of edit, as below.smileyangry

Edited By Pete White on 09/02/2019 18:27:47

Pete White09/02/2019 18:26:22
223 forum posts
16 photos