Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Carbide insert

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Raphael Golez11/10/2018 19:39:57
167 forum posts
153 photos

I am new to this type of tooling and having used HSS I tried carbide both on facing and turning for the first time. I was reducing a 22 mm round aluminium bar to around 19 mm. Everything was tight and in order, the only difference is now I'm using a carbide tip instead of HSS. RPM was around 600, works supported by the tailstock. There was a screeching noise during the cut. I reduce the RPM to as low as 300 and it still produce the noise. The tip is ok and I even counter check this on a magnifying lens. The torque screw is tight, the holder is a 8mm square bar to fit the MS-7 tool post. I'm not experiencing this with HSS am I missing something? The overhang is around 15 to 20 mm and I understand carbide will be efficient at higher RPM cutting mild steel is this different with aluminium? Thanks for the replies.

Cheers,

Raphael

Edited By RAPHAEL VAL GOLEZ 1 on 11/10/2018 19:40:46

FMES11/10/2018 20:49:25
608 forum posts
2 photos

Apologies for asking, but are you using an insert suitable for aluminium?

Regards

pgk pgk11/10/2018 20:54:30
2661 forum posts
294 photos

I suspect you're rubbing more than cutting. My chart for ally cutting speed suggests for 25mm diameter 2000RPM with HSS and 4x that with carbide. - Not that most hobby lathes could run 8000RPM.

Type of carbide insert and depth of cut make a huge difference.. for ally the ground tips are sharper and I'd have taken that 2mm depth of cut in one hit (my lathe is bigger than your myford).