Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Understanding plans.

Help for absolute beginners.

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Alastair Ham01/09/2018 13:59:58
11 forum posts
1 photos

Hi there! This is my first time on a forum like this and only my second month of owning a mini lathe.

I’ve been reading lots of articles and books on techniques or pointers for beginners, however I can’t find anything useful to help me read a simple set of plans. I have bought a kit for a Elmer 25 Wobbler and found the original plans with the written instructions but it still is not in plain enough English for a beginner, the technical drawings are also basically a mystery as well. I imagine it’s like a non musician attempting to read sheet music with no instruction!

Is there a book or website that caters for absolute beginners, the Wobbler is described as a good first model but I can’t see tackling it until I’ve acquired a lot more knowledge, and then applied that knowledge into practical experience. Alternatively are there instructions for projects written in plain English that help beginners get going? Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks.

Neil Wyatt01/09/2018 16:52:54
19226 forum posts
749 photos
86 articles

Hello Alastair,

Welcome to the forum.

You might find this thread useful:

www.model-engineer.co.uk/forums/postings.asp?th=73695&p=8

Do you have any specific questions about the drawings?

Neil

JasonB01/09/2018 17:00:55
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

May be easier to look at some pictures on one being made rather than wade through that threadwink

Quite a good build thread here on MEM

JohnF01/09/2018 17:43:08
1243 forum posts
202 photos

I think some of the info on Neils link are very good and this youtube one in particular is a good representation of the two projections **LINK**