Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Choosing a lthe

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
John Hinkley06/08/2009 19:07:56
1545 forum posts
484 photos
I am new to model engineering, though not entirely new to metalwork, having built a trials car and a kit car from the ground up in my youth.  Now retired, I want to get into model making (not steam) and have just about decided to purchase a new Warco 918 lathe and accessories.  Before I go ahead and pay the extra to have it delivered to me here in France, does anybody own one and if so, how do you find it?
I toyed with buying a secondhand Myford ML7, but haven't had any luck on eBay, always being beaten to the final bid or being out-bid!  Should I persevere?

Thanks,
John

Niloch06/08/2009 19:20:42
371 forum posts
I have to say at the outset that I know nothing about the Warco 918.  However, I do know that besides Ebay, Myford themselves sell second-hand reconditioned lathes. Shame you can't hire a small van, drive it on to Eurostar and vist Myford's open-house  on September 24th to 26th and maybe make a purchase.  See their web site.  Usual disclaimer.
John Hinkley06/08/2009 19:32:50
1545 forum posts
484 photos
Niloch,

Thanks for the input.  I have visited the Myford web site, more out of curiosity that expectation, but I'm afraid their prices are way beyond my meagre means.  I've had enough trouble getting the Warco purchase past the treasurer!

Perhaps I should have said at the outset that I have limited funds available!

John

Dugson07/08/2009 06:37:01
11 forum posts
John
Try this link as an alternative to Myford you might find something of interest, you can ring and talk easily.  http://www.myford-lathes.com/index.htm
Circlip07/08/2009 12:05:57
1723 forum posts