By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

4.75" LBSC Pansy- Adding Firebox Staybolts?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Ian Brancifort22/11/2022 05:12:09
1 forum posts
1 photos

Hello everyone,

I have the opportunity to acquire a 4.75" gauge LBSC Pansy locomotive, and it looks quite nice, except it seems to have been built to the original 1958-1960 drawings. This means that there are no stays above the firehole door, which I believe has been brought up as a potential issue when getting the boiler certified.

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to large scale live steam, so I'm not aware of the order of operations when it comes to fabricating a boiler.

Is it possible to drill holes through the two rear sheets and silver solder stays in place? The locomotive isn't fully complete, and the backhead isn't fitted out yet. The boiler itself is fully complete however, having been hydro'ed some time ago.

If stays can be added, should I use threaded stays, or just silver solder some copper rivets in place?

Thanks in advance, I'd appreciate your advice.

RMA22/11/2022 08:02:59
332 forum posts
4 photos

4.75 inch gauge? I'd check that out before you buy it. Club tracks are 3.5 ; 5 or 7.25 inch.

Nicholas Farr22/11/2022 08:52:32
3988 forum posts
1799 photos

Hi, LBSC's Pansy design is a 5" gauge, but he did give some guidance for building a 2-1/2" gauge one also. If someone has built a 4-3/4" one, it's an oddball one.

For information, the scan below shows dimensions of the 5" gauge wheels, axles etc.

pansy wheels & axles etc..jpg

Regards Nick.

Edited By Nicholas Farr on 22/11/2022 09:09:17

davidk22/11/2022 09:08:26
60 forum posts

Where we in the UK, for example, have 5" gauge, the USA and Canada use 4 3/4" gauge instead, so quite normal over there. This is done as it's very close to scale gauge for 1" to the foot loco's.

Regards

David