Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Denham Lathe Restoration

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Chris Blight07/06/2022 22:02:12
19 forum posts
8 photos

Hi everyone.

My first posting apart from the newbie thing. I'm not a model engineer, but I am an engineer; my tastes tend toward the watchmaking side of things at the moment. Up until now I have been using my boss' machines at work to make my parts, and although that will still continue to be the case (at least in the short term) I have been looking to guy myself a machine or two so I can work at home a little. I don't have much money to play with so I ended up buying a much older lathe than I had initially wanted, and also very much in need of a makeover.

I bought a Denham MKII.

I'm posting some photos of the lathe before restoration. Actually, the machine is already in pieces, albeit in larger pieces in some cases. Unfortunately there are issues with the machine; missing plaques, play in the shaft holding the end gear, a very worn cross slide shaft nut, among other things.

denhamlathe_1.jpg

denhamlathe_2.jpg

denhamlathe_3.jpg

denhamlathe_4.jpg

denhamlathe_5.jpg

The motor has a date on it of 1939, not sure if this is the date of the motor build or the machine build, it's one of the few plaques still in place.

brook motor 1939.jpg

I did check that everything worked before parting company with my hard earned but knew that work had to be done as there was backlash present, although the vee slides were pretty smooth.

You don't get much for your money in the machine tool world.

Now that I have the cross slide and top slide completely disassembled, and seeing the need for a new cross slide nut, I have been looking for a tap to create a new nut with. There don't seem to be any. The shaft is an older style Imperial square form thread and I can't find any taps out there so far.

Any help on this would be appreciated.