Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Surface Plate & Height Gauge recommendations

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Lee Jones 631/05/2020 11:18:55
258 forum posts
125 photos

I really need to stop SWAGing/eyeing things up!

The time has come to take this to the next level. laugh

However, I am not a professional (obviously), nor a millionaire.

Would you lovely folk be kind enough to recommend some products?

Is there anything I need to be cautious of or look out specifically for when purchasing?

not done it yet31/05/2020 11:26:09
7517 forum posts
20 photos

OK, you are now measuring to less than 0.05mm? How precise do you wish to be? 0.01mm, 0.001mm or better?

It’s the Law of Diminishing Returns unless you really need the precision/accuracy.

John Hinkley31/05/2020 11:38:21
1545 forum posts
484 photos

Unless you're doing ultra-precisiopn wor and you already have a sizeable mill, I'd use the mill table as a perfectly acceptable surface plate and concentrat on the height gauge part of the equation. I have a digital height gauge from ARC (where else?) and it is quite adequate for my meagre needs.

Height gauge

John

steamdave31/05/2020 11:39:08
526 forum posts
45 photos

The pauper's surface plate:

Make a framed piece of plywood with a baize top and put on a piece of plate glass. For my 'every day' usage, I use the platen from a retired scanner. Good enough for the girls I go out with!

I also have a second one that I use with wet/dry for smoothing my Many surface irregularities.

Dave
The Emerald Isle

Hopper31/05/2020 11:42:05
7881 forum posts
397 photos

Yep. Old scanner glass platten and an old scriber block is all i ever need. I've long lusted after one of those digital height gauges but always get by without it.

Edited By Hopper on 31/05/2020 11:44:54

Phil H131/05/2020 11:51:48
467 forum posts
60 photos