Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Remove play in internal square thread

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Jim Warren 119/11/2018 20:23:12
13 forum posts
3 photos

Hi,

I am restoring an old lathe and have got to the cross slide.
There is play in the handle I turn to move the cross slide. I can turn the handle about a sixth of a turn with the slide not moving.

The handle is attached to a rod with a square thread.
The rod screws onto a hole that has a matching square thread.
The problem is with the thread in the hole (The rod is OK).

It looks like someone has fixed/bodged this before with a heli-coil type of square thread insert. You can see it in the pic below.

When is the best/correct way to repair this and remove all play.
Bear in mind I am a novice engineer and if a lathe is needed I do not have one until this project is finished.

Thanks in advance for any advice

crossslide.jpg

Hopper19/11/2018 22:40:42
7881 forum posts
397 photos
.... I can turn the handle about a sixth of a turn with the slide not moving. ...

I wouldn't worry too much about this. A bit of backlash on the cross slide feedscrew will not affect how well the lathe turns, as long as the gibs are correctly adjusted. I use my old Drummond Flagellator with more backlash than that and it will turn to tolerances of less than a thou.

If at some point in the future if you feel it absolutely necessary to tighten it up a bit, there are several ways to do it. Using the lathe as it is now, you could turn up a threaded insert and loctite it into position in the hole where the thread goes in the lathe saddle. This would require some tricky setting up in a milling machine to bore the hole true and straight before fitting the insert. Can't see from your pic, but you may be able to knock out the existing insert, if there is one, and simply instal the replacement.

Square thread taps are available from Tracy Tools and others to make the internal thread in the insert.