By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Complete beginners threading euphoria

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Christopher Bason29/09/2018 08:13:12
7 forum posts

With apologies to all those on here who are "creative" with their eyes closed but i I am simply so chuffed that I have cut my first experimental 1.25mm thread on my C2. A nut fits, albeit a little on the wobbly side, but it fits. I can tell you the nervous exhaustion involved in changing lathe gears was , in my case, virtually complete! Great gulps of tea!

Had to get that off my chest. Sorry.

Now...what next...?

Chris Bason (Lincoln)

henryb29/09/2018 08:29:18
51 forum posts
3 photos

It is nice when you do things like that and they go right. i have not tried cutting threads on the lathe itself yet.

Pete Rimmer29/09/2018 08:40:04
1486 forum posts
105 photos

Well done Christopher.

When you're cutting threads, especially when you're starting out and test-fitting the nut each time, keep an eye on the thread outside diameter. In many materials the OD will grow as you make the thread because the flat-topped threading tool raises a small burr that you might not notice. This will cause the nut to not fit even well after you have cut the full depth, the usual result being a very sloppy fit as you have found on your first attempt.

Make a few threading passes then check the OD with a caliper and you'll soon spot any problem. A quick swipe with a flat file as the part is turning will keep it all in check. Using lubricant can go a long way to avoiding it.

Pete.

Brian H29/09/2018 11:27:39
2312 forum posts
112 photos

Very well done Christopher, it's nice when it works out.

Brian

mark costello 129/09/2018 16:58:20
800 forum posts
16 photos

Next thing We will hear He has completed an AntiKrythera mechanism. Good job, carry on.

David T29/09/2018 17:03:22
76 forum posts
14 photos