Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Fusion 360 help needed

Rendering a section analysis

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
AlanW17/07/2017 15:38:58
92 forum posts
12 photos

I'm new to Fusion 360 but have been trying to create a 3D 'section' to illustrate a construction method. Having created the model, I expected to be able to produce a properly rendered sectional view along the centreline but this does not seem to be possible. I looked it up on the web and it is a question others have asked several times; the only answer from Autodesk is that the function is not available but in the to do pile.

Has anyone else tried this and managed a work around?

Also, there doesn't seem to be any way to export a file of the sectional view in a format compatible with any other software (that I have access to). I did a screen dump into Photoshop and replaced the 'hatching' with solid colour but the image quality isn't very good.

Any suggestions?

TIA

Alan

David Jupp17/07/2017 16:44:55
978 forum posts
26 photos

Sounds simple enough

**LINK**

AlanW17/07/2017 16:58:58
92 forum posts
12 photos

I've already passed that stage thanks David and, yes, it is simple enough. What I want to do is the 'photo-realistic' rendering, ready for output. When that is done, it only results in the external surfaces displayed. Pretty though it looks, for a first attempt anyway, it isn't what I want to achieve.

Thanks anyway,

Alan

David Jupp17/07/2017 17:05:50
978 forum posts
26 photos

If there are no more sophisticated methods available - add an extrude cut to each part to cut away one side of the overall centreline.

In some software your can use 'assembly features' to achieve this all in one go (assuming your are modelling a multi-part item).

AlanW17/07/2017 17:24:03
92 forum posts
12 photos