By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

What essential tools do in need for building a live steam loco?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Robinson 430/03/2016 20:39:58
102 forum posts

Hi

Im a complete beginner to model engineering and have always wanted to build a small 3.5" gauge steam loco.

What are the essential machine tools I need? I know a lathe and milling machine is essential but what else do I need? and what are the cheapest metal working lathes and milling machines for model engineering?

Btw I already have an arc welder.

thanks

NJH30/03/2016 20:53:54
2314 forum posts
139 photos

I would add a pillar drill to that line up. Ok you can drill in the mill but you don't want to disturb a set up in the mill just to drill the odd hole.

Cheapest mill & lathe ?  I wouldn't like to hazard a guess. My experience in life generally is that cheapest is usually not best. The old criteria of " Fit for purpose" is better .

Norman

Edited By NJH on 30/03/2016 20:58:39

JasonB30/03/2016 20:56:56
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

You could actually do it without a mill, most of the old designs that everyone seems to still build were originally done on just a lathe with a vertical slide for the milling operations. Mill is just easier not essential.

Nick_G30/03/2016 21:13:00
1808 forum posts
744 photos

I would say that a lathe and a mill are not that expensive. - It's the required tooling and accessories that go with them that become expensive when you add them all up.

Please don't think I am belittling the considerable cost of the machine tools. I am just being realistic. I have certainly spent far more on tooling etc than I have on the machines themselves.

Nick

julian atkins30/03/2016 21:54:57
1285 forum posts
353 photos

Hi Simon,