Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Travelling Microscope Query

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
peak418/07/2023 20:33:06
2207 forum posts
210 photos

Our friendly courier dropped me a parcel off this morning.
I spotted an interesting item up for sale, and had an offer accepted, so I've ended up with a measuring microscope, as in this photo; micrometer head and scale is metric.
I've not taken any pictures of it myself yet, so this one is from the original advert, just to show the layout.
It will stand as shown, on its back, or on one end.

microscope.jpg

Everything appears to work as it should, though a clean and polish will be in order soon, but I have a query regarding focussing, as I'm no expert on microscope/telescope optics.
Though not obvious from this one photo, the microscope tube works like a draw telescope, and extends to a marked scale, up to 200mm.
The closest I can get it to focus with the current optics, is about 13" from the objective with the tube at full draw, well beyond the 200mm marking on the top tube; I really need to get it down to about 2½", to be in the same plane as the table on which it would stand.
The eyepiece is marked up as 7.5, so I assume this is the magnification, as per my other binocular microscope(s); the eye lens itself screws into a tube with a pair of cross hairs at the bottom end, along with a second lens.

The objective is marked up as "Telescope" which would seem an accurate description, as I can focus on the buildings opposite with the draw tube fully compressed.
I don't have any other objective lenses to try as both my other binocular scopes are designed for benchwork/dissecting etc and have combined dual lens slide in units; their eyepieces work OK in this scope, but they don't bring the focussing any closer.
The objective's thread seems to be a nominal 0.8" or a shade over 20mm
I've not tried to measure the pitch yet.

Any thoughts about an easy solution please?