Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Help. Myford Super 7 threads not equal gearbox chart

My threads do not equal what my gearbox displays

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Matthew McBride09/07/2023 02:36:48
6 forum posts
3 photos

I am a novice. I inherited my Dad's Myford Super 7. I used this as a youth with my dad, but now I'm really getting into it. I know how to read my gearbox. I am trying to get 18 TPI. When I try using 2B, I get 21TPI. 1B gives me 19.3 TPI. 8A gives me 17 TPI. I measured both with a thread gauge, and manual calculations from 3" test runs. What am I doing wrong? No setting equates to what it should.

Oh, and how in the dickens do you grease the fitting that is too small to accommodate a grease gun? I ended up pulling the spindle out and packing it by hand. Is there such thing as a british grease gun that has a smaller head?

Martin Connelly09/07/2023 07:42:47
2549 forum posts
235 photos

I don't have a Myford but I do know that what looks like a greasing point might be an oiling point. Do not apply grease unless you know for certain it is a greasing point.

Martin C

DC31k09/07/2023 07:44:45
1186 forum posts
11 photos

In some sense, you are starting in the middle of the problem, not at one end or the other.

Begin with the leadscrew. The gearbox settings are based on an 8tpi leadscrew. It is vanishingly unlikely that this is incorrect, but is so easy to verify (hold a rule against it and check there are 16 threads in two inches), it is worth taking the time to eliminate it from your enquiries.