By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Mild steel rigidity

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Jack Cole24/05/2023 19:12:35
10 forum posts

I wonder if someone can advise a total novice on what would be the optimum thickness of a 1200mm x 600mm mild steel sheet.

When I say optimum thickness I'm talking about using it as a worktop and storage shelf. It would be supported on all four sides only.

So what I really need to know what sort of thickness would be rigid enough not to bow, without being impractically heavy?

As i said before, I've no experience with sheet metal, so I've no idea.

Emgee24/05/2023 19:32:57
2610 forum posts
312 photos

Somewhat depends on the weight of items placed on the shelf/bench but 3mm may suffice.
A central bar in the 1200mm length would provide better support.

Emgee

Ady124/05/2023 19:47:18
6137 forum posts
893 photos

A sheet of wood with a metal sheet on top would probbly do better

Kitchen tops are about 2 inches thick, once you get past 50 kilos a centre support makes things safer

A couple of bits of angle iron across the gap would help but they usually come in 1000mm lengths

Mr Brunel used steel box sections for one of his longer span bridges

My Argos desk has hollow 1 inch square box lengths 4.5 feet long and they make a big difference to stiffness

Just depends on the weight you expect it to bear

Edited By Ady1 on 24/05/2023 20:00:12

Clive Foster24/05/2023 22:19:11
3630 forum posts
128 photos