Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Matthew Bennett27/12/2022 01:56:12
2 forum posts

Hi I’m new to engineering.

Thor 🇳🇴27/12/2022 08:34:34
1766 forum posts
46 photos

Hi Matthew,

Welcome to the forum, many helpful members on here. What are your interests when it comes to Model Engineering?

Thor

Bazyle27/12/2022 12:03:49
6956 forum posts
229 photos

If you spend twixmas reading the whole forum you will learn everything you need to know.

Howard Lewis27/12/2022 12:57:13
7227 forum posts
21 photos

Welcome!

Where are you located? It might be possible that if you need hands on, or face to face, help someone might be close enough to visit.

Do find a local model engineering society and join.

As well as this forum, you will learn a lot there, and have the company of like minded people.

If you haven't got any, some books may be great help, such as books by Stan Bray, Ian Bradley, Sparey, harold hall, David Clark, Dave Fenner and Neil Wyatt will answer many of your questions (And some that you haven't even thought of! )

As reference books you will certainly need a set of Zeus Charts, and you will often find a need to refer to Tubal Cain's "Model Engineer's Handbook"

As a beginner, take time to learn the basics, and walk before trying to sprint..

Make your mistakes on relatively cheap material, rather than an expensive casting.

Learn by making simple tools (Centre Height Gauge, Tap Wrench, Die Holders, - hand held, or better, Sliding Tailstock ones ) You will learn and have tools that you can use for years to come.

Go for it!

Howard.

David George 127/12/2022 20:05:53
2110 forum posts
565 photos

Hi Mathew welcome to the forum. Where roughly do you live as if helps with local knowledge. What are you interested in.

David

noel shelley27/12/2022 22:07:36
2308 forum posts
33 photos

Welcome to the party Mathew, most of what you may need to know is here - somewhere ! Noel.

Matthew Bennett01/01/2023 20:49:08
2 forum posts