Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

My first build

The first trial run of my first build

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Mark Rea17/07/2022 14:53:03
32 forum posts
7 photos

This is my first attempt at a model engine. I chose an Elmer's Grasshopper as I think they look brilliant running. I am ridiculously pleased with it. Now just a bit of fettling and tidying up.

https://youtu.be/DzNhpbGo9Bw.

Also my first attempt at posting a link. This is the engine running.

JasonB17/07/2022 14:55:11
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Turned out well

Edited By JasonB on 17/07/2022 14:55:38

DiogenesII17/07/2022 15:13:42
859 forum posts
268 photos

Looks good, nice work!

Swarf, Mostly!17/07/2022 16:11:53
753 forum posts
80 photos

Mark,

I congratulate you on your Grasshopper build.

For various reasons, despite being a reader of ME for a long time and a member of this forum, also for a long time, and having made a great deal of swarf, I have never built an engine! If I had, my first choice would have been a Grasshopper; I still have an envelope of drawings for one in my filing 'system'.

You refer to the 'Elmer's Grasshopper', ought I to know about the 'Elmer' part of the description? How many variations are there on the Grasshopper theme?

In Southampton, there used to be a chain ferry across the River Itchen, just downstream of where the Itchen Bridge is now. When the ferry was taken out of service, its Grasshopper engine was removed and, the last time I heard, was preserved in one of Southampton City Council's cavernous store-rooms. I left Southampton in year 2000 so I am not up-to-date but I believe, in pre-lockdown times, that engine could be viewed by arrangement?

Best regards,

Swarf, Mostly!

Edited By Swarf, Mostly! on 17/07/2022 16:13:13

Thor 🇳🇴17/07/2022 16:33:54
1766 forum posts
46 photos

Hi Mark,