Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Myford Super 7 Tail stock problem

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Trevor Rushton 206/05/2020 19:30:46
9 forum posts
5 photos

Good evening everyone; this is my first post on this forum so apologies if my question has already been covered (I could not find anything). I'm not an expert by any means but enjoy pottering with Stuart castings and such like.

I have a Super 7 that has worked very well but at the weekend I somehow managed to disengage the tailstock quill from its screw. I could not seem to get the screw to re-engage so I took the end cap off to try and make things easier. The cap came off fairly easily but try as I might I cannot get it back again.

I have cleaned the tailstock and the cap threads; they seem to be in good order with no signs of cross threading. I can rotate thecap for 1.5 turns by hand and a further half turn by using a tommy bar, but beyond that its virtually impossible without undue force.

I have:

cleaned and checked the threads for signs of cross threading

lightly oiled both parts

run a fine point round the thread to make sure it was clean

heated thetailstock casting with a hot air gun (this enabled me to get a couple more turns)

Put the cap in the freezer for a short while (made no difference).

Plan B would be to take a gnats eyebrow off the thread but I really don't want to go there - that seems the wrong thing to do.

So I am stuck! 1.5 turns is enough for me to get the tailstock working but its obviously not the solution. Problem is I don't know what else to do! Any hits or tis would be welcome. I'll post a couple of pics to illustrate the problem.

Thanks

Trevor

Trevor Rushton 206/05/2020 19:46:25
9 forum posts
5 photos

img_2385.jpgimg_2383.jpgimg_2382.jpgHere are some photos of my errant tail stock capimg_2381.jpg

Martin Cargill06/05/2020 20:42:37
203 forum posts