By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Martin Cargill

Here is a list of all the postings Martin Cargill has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Broken toolmakers clamp.
23/09/2023 09:47:01

I have a pair of toolmakers clamps made when I was an apprentice 45 years ago. They are still working well (touch wood). The clamps were made from scrap shanks for lathe tools. Our factory must have gone through a fair amount of tooling as they managed to provide our apprentice training school with around 200 pieces of steel a year.

The origin of the steel made it difficult to drill and tap because it was harder than the mild steel that we had used for our previous tool making projects - a few drills were blunted and a few more taps were broken during the manufacturing process.

Thread: Single phase speed control - VFD?
21/09/2023 21:54:40

I had a similar, but not the same problem, with my Arboga pillar drill. I don't have three phase power and the motor was two speed, three phase. The two speed motor made fitting an invertor drive difficult. I decided to fit a single phase motor but discovered that the existing motor has a shaft about a foot long with a gear machined on the end.

Problem was solved by swapping the existing motor fan for a pulley and then adding a single phase motor to drive the pulley. The new single phase motor now drives the machine using the old motor as a kind of layshaft.

I got the idea from work where we used a similar trick to drive oil pumps with failed bespoke motors with replacement standard motors.

You could possibly do the same but use an invertor powered three phase motor to drive your single phase motor.

Martin

Thread: moving a 1250kg bridgeport clone
16/09/2023 17:24:28