Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Tooling Choices, identification & WM290 Feed Question

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Dave Brannigan01/03/2020 18:28:23
16 forum posts
9 photos

Hi All, new to the forum and indeed the world of turning & Milling.

Entering retirement after a lifetime of electrical engineering I decided to get myself a lathe to pass the time and give me something to learn. Being a keen Car mechanic I think if Id had one 30 years ago it may have paid for itself by now, but as it is it's early days to say how much use it will be. Ive been holding out for second hand unit for over a year but with a lack of anything that fitted expectations, but more importantly my shed, I bit the bullet and bought a new Warco WM290V and have had it a month now.

Had a few teething issues with it which I'll probably cover in detail in a different review for the benefit of others either thinking of getting one or having similar issues but in short, the change gear table on the machine was different to that in the manual in several areas, there is a reference line missing from the cross slide and it quickly developed a fault where the drive would stop and start in both fwd and reverse. I fixed that myself and advised Warco of a design weakness which they are feeding back to the manufacturer. Drives and control was my field. Warco have been very supportive of my findings but with the Coronavirus prevalent in China, getting answers back may be protracted.

Let's get to the point of this post though.

Along with the Lathe I ordered a milling slide, collet chuck/adapter plate, and several indexable tools. (some were thrown in as a sweetener)