Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Building a coal fired boiler

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Robinson 419/11/2015 15:29:38
102 forum posts

Hi

forgive me as I'm a beginner.

I want to build a coal fired steam engine boiler of less than 5" in diameter. I've calculated the thickness of the walls to hold in the pressure. I'd prefer to use steel as I'm good at welding, but steel rusts and if its too thick the heat won't get across.

A lot of people suggest copper, but copper is astronomically expensive for a tube of suitable diameter and thickness to make a coal fired boiler.

What other materials would be suitable, can brass be used? I guess that would be cheaper?

What is the cheapest way of building a workable coal fired loco boiler that's long lasting and capable of holding pressure? 

Also where is the best place for materials, I've tried Macc models but they don't give much of a description on the thickness of tubes etc.

thanks

Edited By Simon Robinson 4 on 19/11/2015 15:32:09

Neil Wyatt19/11/2015 15:39:35
19226 forum posts
749 photos
86 articles

Brass is not safe for all but 'toy' boilers as it is vulnerable to corrosion and becoming brittle. There are good designs for steel boilers out there, but the thickness depends as much on allowances for corrosion as for sheer strength.

If you want to use your boiler other than at home, you will need it to be certified and insured. that means a recognised design or getting the design approved by a boiler inspector. In any case the inspector should want to inspect the built at two or there stages during the work. The cheapest way to do this (and access a lot of helpful expertise) is to join a model engineering club.

It certainly can be done, because Fizzy of this parish has done it: www.model-engineer.co.uk/forums/postings.asp?th=65907&p=1