Super Adept Thread 2023

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David-Clark 107/08/2023 23:00:35
271 forum posts
5 photos

Hi There

You can’t keep a good engineer down.

A while back, probably about 2 years ago, I posted that I had purchased a brand new Myford ML10 that was about 50 years old. A month later, I had my second leg amputated. My “family basically made me sell the lathe before I got to use it”.

For the last two weeks I have been helping someone to build a Stuart V10 using Facebook Messenger and have thoroughly enjoyed it. His name is also Dave and he is a goldsmith by trade. An engineer, he is not but he is learning fast.

Our next project together will probably be a Stuart Victoria.

i have not ignored engineering having read Model Engineer and Workshop online.

I have also been looking for drawings for the original Stuart 10V as well but no luck. This is the one with a single column and an angled pillar similar to some of the larger Stuart verticals.

I now think I can build one of these using half of the Stuart A frame and an angled column.

So, onto the Super Adept. Having got the workshop bug again, I looked at lathes on Ebay. The smaller ones like the Unimat SL and Unimat 3 go for silly money. Anything I could afford was collection only and might as well have been in the Arctic for all the good they would do me.

Then I saw a Super Adept for £40 or best offer. I offered £90 not expecting them to accept but they did. So, for a £100 I am the proud owner of a nice little super adept. It looks complete including the 4 Jaw chuck.

No countershaft or motor which I hope is a good thing as it may not have been used much. I thought the drive would not be a major problem as I could pick up an old treadle sewing machine table on Facebook Market Place. Then it clicked, silly old fool, I don’t have any legs to work a treadle.