Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

the effect of Electrolytic de-rusting on Soldered joints

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Russ Jackson23/11/2022 11:20:01
5 forum posts

Hi All

I'm a newbie here and I have what may appear to be a simple question but I haven't managed to find any kind of answer so far so here's my issue......so I'm restoring a 1927 Sunbeam model 9 motorcycle not a scale model but the real thing.....the combined petrol / oil tank of Flat tank design is of original of soft Soldered Tinplate construction unfortunately it is very rusty inside so I'm hoping I can de-rust it using Electrolysis.....but before I start doing this I really need to know if this will dissolve / erode the Soldered joints can anyone he me out

Jeff Dayman24/11/2022 13:36:02
2356 forum posts
47 photos

There are LOTS of unknowns here, so hard to say. Who knows what grade of solder Sunbeam used, or if the tin plate is just steel and tin plating or some combination of plating and galvanizing. I have seen many combinations. I have done some electrolysis on old engine parts (iron and steel only) using a washing soda / water solution and never damaged anything but I would recommend a test with a scrap holed or rusted out Sunbeam tank if you can find one. You could test some ordinary tinplate or galvanised steel and a make a soldered joint to test. One recommendation - you would be wise to watch it like a hawk initially, so if anything goes wrong you can stop it as soon as possible.

I have noticed that on hollow castings the internal passages and cavities take the longest to get clean of rust, and constant re-positioning and renewal of the sacrificial iron plate, bar or strip inside the cavities is often needed to keep the reaction going. Star shaped plastic plates fitted onto bar are a good way to keep the bar from making short circuits to the cavities.

Speedy Builder524/11/2022 14:25:26
2878 forum posts
248 photos