Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

A new old boy

Martyn Poole

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Martyn Poole10/10/2022 19:25:12
2 forum posts
5 photos

I am a returned subscriber to MEW and have been viewing the website for some time and I have at last decided to put my head above the parapet and declare my presence.

During my time as an observer I have marvelled at the wide ranging subjects, depth of knowledge and good humour of the correspondents, it has been fascinating and a credit to you.

I have been interested in engineering since an early age when I was brought up in West London in the 1960s, it was fostered by my Father, Ronald Poole, who was an Electrical Engineer by profession, a senior employee of Dewhurst and Partners and finally the Director running Engines & Electrics who built coolant pumps for the likes of Colchester (600 Group) and Cincinnati. He built me a shed workshop, bought me a pre-war Myford ML4 and refurbished it (complete with Type A drum switch), and a Startrite Mercury bench drill both of the latter I still have. From those days I have some Stuart Turner 7A castings in a poorly half machined state somewhere.

Regarding my changing career, despite my urban roots, I have a degree in Agriculture, then moved back to London and qualified as a Chartered Accountant but then in the 1980s any sort of engineering was abandoned in favour of work, courting, DIY and house renovating. I subscribed to MEW when it was first published but around that time my wife suffered a terrible brain injury which has left her partially disabled and once again my hobby engineering dreams evaporated.

Now I am semi-retired from accountancy and heading for full retirement, by one bit of good fortune in my life, I have a lot of spare room even though I now live in South East London, so I am putting together my dream workshop and as it has 3 phase supply I hope to acquire a lathe or mill, or even both, with a E & E pump one day.