Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Sieg SC4 change gears

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Ricardo30/10/2021 14:33:54
18 forum posts
4 photos

I need to cut a 20TPI left hand thread with my Sieg SC4 lathe.

I have the appropriate gears in place and moved "A" to the left so that the lead screw goes in reverse.

However I am unable to get the AB gears to mesh as the gear to the right of the picture is in the way.

**LINK**

Can this be removed, if so how please, or am I missing something!

This is my first attempt at changing gears and cutting a thread. Maybe not ideal to have to be a left hand one but it has to be.

Help much appreciated

Richard

AndrewD30/10/2021 14:53:36
19 forum posts
9 photos

There should be (at least there is on mine) two flats on the stud so you can unscrew the whole thing. From memory you need a 13mm spanner.

Edited By AndrewD on 30/10/2021 15:06:27

JasonB30/10/2021 15:14:40
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

As well as being able to loosen the studs so they can be slid along the banjo you can also loosen the banjo where it clamps around the lead screw boss which will help with getting the gears to mesh you can see the cap head screw for this far right of picture

Ricardo30/10/2021 16:01:26
18 forum posts
4 photos

Andrew, that picture is very helpful and almost answers the question. There are 2 small allen screws top and bottom on mine, which I assume lock it in place, presumably these have to come out 1st ?

thanks for your advise

Richard

AndrewD30/10/2021 16:14:25
19 forum posts
9 photos

You don't need to touch those. I think all they do is hold in the threaded block that the above shaft screws into. You can see the back of it if you take the top cover off. Anyway, it's a bit fiddly depending on how long your spanner is because the lead screw can get in the way but the whole assembly simply unscrews.

Howard Lewis30/10/2021 16:36:11
7227 forum posts
21 photos