By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Hello from Brisbane, Australia

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Rodney Nissen09/10/2021 12:45:25
6 forum posts

I'm a wannabee model engineer, ever since I read Neville Shute's "Trustee from the Toolroom" in school.!!! I went to sea as a Marine Engineer initially in Australia and then in the UK.

I have a good workshop (albeit very untidy) set up with lathe and vertical mill, but so far only used it on occasion for work stuff as I have my own business working in the industrial combustion field.

All the best,

Rodney

Brian H09/10/2021 13:25:01
2312 forum posts
112 photos

Hi Rodney and welcome to the forum. I don't think the forum allows people in if they have a tidy workshop!

So, what sort of model engineering are you interested in? perhaps a marine triple expansion engine?

Brian

Rodney Nissen09/10/2021 14:10:21
6 forum posts

Hello Brian....my middle name too!!

Ah ......yes steam

LORD, Thou hast made this world below the shadow of a dream,

An taught by time, I tak it so......exceptin always STEAM.......

Cant beat Rudyard. He had a poem for anything worth it.

When I went to sea, I was on steam turbines, but we had to answer questions at the DOT/ BOT exams on steam reciprocating. Later on I was on motorships (diesels) and lots of Doxford opposed piston engines. However they had the steam operated Weirs feed pump on the auxy boilers. I became an expert on these. I would love to make a model of one of these. I contacted Weirs in Scotland years ago and they said they would send me drawings, Alas they never arrived.

I did buy a book on miniature internal combustion engines but thats maybe running before I can walk.

All the best

Brian H09/10/2021 15:15:20
2312 forum posts
112 photos

Hello Rodney, you may be interested in this;

https://modelengineeringwebsite.com/Weir_pump.html

All the best,