Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Bantam feed not working

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Allen Moore 114/02/2020 23:15:37
6 forum posts

Hi guys

Hoping one of you knowledgeable chaps maybe able to help me. I am still learning to use my lathe and think I may have damaged it. I was doing a cut with the feed and set the stops on the carriage to stop at same place. The idea being to stop the feed just before the stop then hand wind to the stop. Unfortunately I couldn’t disengage the feed before it hit the stop so I hit the e button. I could disengage the feed lever as it was tight against the stop. I managed to wind the stop in and disengage the feed.

Since this happened the feed does not work. I have taken the end cover of the drive end and the cogs are all driving(itruns when the cover is removed). I have read that there is a shear pin but I think that hasn’t sheared and it’s something in the bottom gear box. Pics below if any help. The pic of the drive end was taken when the lathe was running and all cogs were turning but the feed screw wasn’t. I hope I haven’t damaged it beyond repair.

cheers in advance

upload_2020-2-12_18-46-19.jpeg

upload_2020-2-12_18-44-44.jpeg

Steviegtr15/02/2020 00:33:10
2668 forum posts
352 photos

I do not know your model of lathe. Can you do a sort of logical assessment starting at the beginning, the drive & slowly follow the drive to a point where it stops. It is only gears going round. So at some point they stop going round & that is where the problem is. Sorry I cannot be of more help & I am sure someone will be along that knows your model & can be of more help. Certainly looks like a nice machine you have

Steve.

not done it yet15/02/2020 08:24:48
7517 forum posts
20 photos