By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for martin ranson 2

Here is a list of all the postings martin ranson 2 has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Another unfortunate milestone reached?
09/11/2019 21:32:22

To Bob Worsley please, I am always fascinated by the question of the old world versus the new ... I am definitely back in the stone age for my small models ... and happy to stay there ... how model engineering is perceived by a newcomer to the hobby I am not sure ... at the moment M E magazine seems to be firmly locked onto a lot of huge heavy models and quite a lot of full-size equipment as well ... obviously the editor can only publish articles that he receives ... however, from the viewpoint of a total beginner I wonder how we all appear ... my opinion is that he or she will think that a huge well equipped workshop is essential before doing anything .. lathe, miller, shaper, planer, oxyacetylene, bending rolls, large stock of metal etc, etc ... the bigger the list, the more the cost, ... there is also the size of workshop necessary to house it all ... somehow I think a lot of people could be dissuaded from starting to try making anything because they do not possess the experience, the skill, the space, the contacts etc.

I would love to know how other modellers view my opinions ... surely a total beginner needs a simple, low cost model to start with ... something to complete with a limited amount of hardware.

martin

Thread: Hello from East Yorkshire
23/06/2019 20:17:42